Kale. Glorious Kale.

Little fact about me: I love kale. I like it baked into chips. I like it in a massaged salad. I like it with quinoa. I like it pretty much any way I’ve ever tried it. I’ve been gutted that I couldn’t find it in New Zealand. I’d been making do with silverbeet (most comparable to swiss chard), but it’s just not the same.

Today, I went to the Mediterranean Market where I love to peruse the produce, as well as everything else they have there, and see what funky things I can find. Today I found kale. Glorious kale. It’s somewhat sad, and not too full and leafy, but I don’t care, still kale.

Skinny Lean Kale

For dinner, I decided to make a barley and chicken bake  (or ‘casserole’, love that word) including the kale. Here’s the recipe for my creation. It was packed with veg and fruit and deliciousness.

CURRIED VEGGIE BARLEY AND CHICKEN BAKE (featuring kale!)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 2 whole carrots
  • 2 gala apples
  • 1 medium Bosc pear
  • 6 cups raw kale, chopped
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 1/2 cups pearl barley
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breastsDirections

    Heat oil in large skillet; sauté onion, bell peppers and garlic 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add chopped carrot, pear, apple and spices; sauté 4 minutes longer. Stir in barley, kale and chicken broth; bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes. Pour barley mixture into large baking dish or casserole. Arrange chicken breasts over barley and season with salt and pepper. Cover and bake in 375º F oven for 45 minutes. Remove cover. Continue to bake, uncovered, 15 minutes longer. Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

