Energy ‘to go’

I’m always looking for easy to make, vegan friendly energy bar type recipes. I’ve discovered some No Bake Energy Bites that I’ve been making quite often and have been a perfect on the go energy boost. I’ve changed some ingredients and added some Chia Seeds as they are a current obsession of mine. (Read about their benefits here) At 91 calories a pop, they’re a dense, energy packed little snack that help get me through the afternoons and through my workout so I’m not dying by dinner time.

Enjoy!

No-Bake Energy Bites Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (dry) oatmeal (use old-fashioned or whole grain, no quick oats)
  • 2/3 cup toasted coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or your favorite nut butter of choice)
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp Chia Seeds (optional)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  • Stir all ingredients together in a medium bowl until thoroughly mixed. I typically heat the honey and peanut butter just a bit in the microwave to make it a bit more stir-friendly.
  • Let chill in the refrigerator for half an hour.
  • Once chilled, roll into balls of whatever size you would like. I weighed mine to keep size consistent but a good size I found is also a heaping tablespoon then rolled into a ball.
  • Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week. I’ve also been freezing extras to pull out at a later date.

Makes about 20-25 balls.

Leave a Reply

