Patience.

It’s now been a week post injury, or when we can at least assume the fibula broke. We’ve settled back into life in Queenstown. I’ve been learning a large lesson in patience. Patience for my bone to heal. Patience for the time of the day to pass. Patience in the fact I cannot multi-task when my hands are occupied by crutches. For those who know me and my “busy-bodiness”, this has been tough. But for now, I’d like to be optimistic and think it’s the world trying to tell me to slow down, stop and smell the roses.ย 

Image

Yesterday I made my first adventure out of the house on my very own. I figured out I can drive. Well, a quite loose definition of driving. I can do it, but it’s not pleasant. My moonboot fits the pedal area, but I do cringe with every push of the clutch. However, that freedom I gained by being able to get myself somewhere was liberating.

I made it out to the gym on my adventure. I was able to ride a stationary bike for a bit and do some stretches, etc. The movement felt amazing and I got my back to creak and pop back into something that slightly resembles proper alignment. The boot makes my left leg at least a couple of inches taller than my right, so I’m trying to avoid being lopsided.

Until more time has passed for the bone to heal, it’s the couch, stationary bikes and mastering the stairs for me. Today I also attempt my first go at modified yoga, bring on the 1 legged chatarunga!

If you’ve ever been injured, what did you do to pass the time? What were you able to do to maintain some level of fitness?

Cheers,

Erin

Leave a Reply

