Jumbled Sunday Thoughts

 

There’s a lot going through my head this morning, hence jumping from emotions to recipes…

On being halfway around the world: 

It’s been quite the experience to watch from afar as a part of Colorado that’s been such a large part of my life over the last 9 years has gotten washed away by the incredible forces of mother nature. Luckily, I believe all my friends and family are safe at this point.  Some have lost homes, all their possessions and their communities. What they still have is their lives, love and strength. Homes and goods can be replaced and I’m so very thankful they’re all safe. Sending hugs and love to all of you in Colorado. Stay strong.

 

 

 

Stay Strong Colorado.
Stay Strong Colorado.

On Meditation:

Throughout the past 4 weeks, I’ve been searching for meaning and purpose. I’m somebody who typically goes about 100 mph doing about 3 things at once at any given moment. This injury has forced me to slow down, smell the flowers, and take my time with everyday tasks (there is no texting and walking in a moonboot). I kept looking for something that could help me slow down not only now, but perhaps as a life commitment. In the end, I decided to commit to a daily meditation practice. I have begun meditating 5-15 minutes every morning. Some days are tough because of the physical discomfort of sitting in combination with my ever scattered mind, but I’m getting better at it (if you can even say ‘getting better at meditation’ that is). I’ve practiced with various guided practices as well as unguided sessions. Some benefits I’ve noticed so far are listed below, and I can only imagine the list growing.

 

  • It creates a clean slate for the day, both mentally and physically
  • Acts as a ‘reset’ button for my body and mind
  • It’s like brain exercise and training
  • Increase in my patience
  • Gentle awakening before slamming back my coffee (perhaps someday I’ll give up coffee…)

 

 

On Progress:

Day by day the ankle is getting stronger and more mobile. Weight bearing is becoming easier, as is my balance. Today marks 4 weeks post-injury. It also marks my last day of the moon boot. I’m nervous, yet optimistic about wearing a left shoe again tomorrow. My range of motion has greatly increased which has made many things much easier, and walking tomorrow should be much easier than I imagined it would have been 4 weeks ago. The hot pool and lots of stretching have been saviors for my overall comfort. As has all the love and support from friends and family. I may be injured, but I can still spend time in the kitchen. Today’s mission: carrot oatmeal and ginger cookies

 

 

On Carrot Oatmeal Ginger Cookies:

We’ve had a surplus of carrots around here and I’d been wanting to do something different with them. Not carrot cake, not carrot muffins.  I found a recipe for some with no refined sugar, etc., however, due to my limited ingredients I had to ‘unhealthify’ her lovely recipe. My version is more guilty but I’d love to try her version once I’m back in the states and would have the ingredients at my fingertips. I also love that you could add things like citrus zest, shredded coconut, or raisins or walnuts or whatever you’d like in them. They’re sweet, but not sickeningly and the ginger is just enough of a punch of flavor without being overbearing. 

photo 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon himalayan pink salt (ground)
  • 1 cup whole grain oats
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted dairy free spread
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger grated

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk your flour, baking powder, salt, and oats together. Mix in your shredded carrots.
  3. In a separate smaller bowl, whisk your brown sugar, melted dairy free spread, and ginger together. Mix this into your flour mixture and stir until just combined. Mine took heaps of stirring to get it all moist. Be patient, it will get there.
  4. Using a tablespoon as a scoop, drop your dough onto the prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches between cookies.
  5. Bake 10-12 minutes or until cookies are golden on top and bottom.
  6. Let cool a minute or two on baking sheet and then move to a wire rack.
  7. I got about 2 dozen cookies.
  8. Enjoy!

Leave a comment