6 weeks

Hard to believe it’s been over 6 weeks since my injury. Also hard to believe it is the first of October. The time has gone really slow and flown by all at the same time. My days have been occupied by mostly being a homemaker and rehab. Getting better is my primary focus.  I spend a few hours at the gym everyday and visit the physio 1-2 times a week to get the kinks worked out. Hopefully another 4 weeks and I’ll be back to a bit more of my ‘normal self’ doing the activities I love to do. Also, T-2 weeks until our return back to the States.

I’m thrilled with my progress. I’m ahead of what the doctors and the physio thought I would be, but even more so, I’ve surpassed my own expectations by far. I’ve been amazed at the capacity of the human mind and body to heal itself. I really didn’t think I’d be able to do this much so soon!

  • Walking on two feet more or less normally. I can go outside for walks up to about an hour or so. It’s been incredibly liberating.
  • Squats, lunges, lots of balancing and yoga all have become possible. Sometimes my range of motion is limited, but easy to work around.
  • Pain is minimal unless I overdo it on a certain day or move to quickly laterally.
  • Swelling is and has been almost non existent, once again, unless I overdo it.

Here’s a bit of a recap of the past week in photos.

Views from my running shoes. Lake Wakatipu Jetty Edition
Views from my running shoes. Lake Wakatipu Jetty Edition
Can't wait until I'm home to this
Can’t wait until I’m home to this
Tulips n' beer
Tulips n’ beer
Succeeded at finding affordable colorful veggies in Queenstown
Succeeded at finding affordable colorful veggies in Queenstown
Found out it snowed at home
Found out it snowed at home
Love how every coffee in NZ is pretty
Love how every coffee in NZ is pretty
Super secret apple project.
Super secret apple project.
Leave a Reply

